Well, it’s really official…we signed the build contract for our tiny house! We are very excited to announce that we are working with Minimaliste Houses. They have designed our custom tiny house and will be building it! More to come soon on the design and how it has been working with them, but it’s gonna be freakin’ awesome! Check out Minimaliste on their website (or on Facebook, instagram, youtube). You can see lots of photos and a couple great videos to give you a sense of the quality and style of their work.

I’ve been MIA from the blog for a while because my husband and I were sorting out a number of details on the tiny house design, as well as searching for a spot to park it. On top of that, a couple of family members have had serious health issues lately and I was visiting them (thankfully they are both doing well now) so things were pretty crazy for a while. I am so so happy now that we are taking this next step in the process.

So, what’s next? Now Minimaliste is ordering the trailer (the house is on wheels), which takes about a month, and then they will build it. The house should be delivered this summer, and we can’t wait! Deciding to get a Tiny House and figuring out how to make it happen has been a complicated, sometimes stressful process, but I couldn’t be happier that we’ve made this decision. I’ve talked in past posts about why we’ve decided to go on this wild journey. Right now though, I am particularly looking forward to minimizing stuff, and opening up the freedom to spend time with the people I love and do the things I love.

I had time off work around the holidays so I spent some time decluttering, but there’s more of that to come! Those of you who know me well may wonder how I’m going to live in a tiny house (I’ve been known to hold on to things), but despite this process being challenging, it is so good for me! I’m learning to let go and create space. Space without so much “stuff,” space for the things that matter to me. I’ll share some progress and tips on downsizing soon.

For those that are new to the blog, welcome! I hope you’ll follow along. I plan to post regularly on progress, tips for others looking to go tiny or just simplify/downsize, and other musings related to tiny house life in California!

 

